Which Kind Bars are Vegan?

You may have seen KIND bars and assumed they were vegan because they contain natural plant-based components such as nuts, oats, dried fruit, and seeds. However, a few elements in KIND bars are problematic for vegans, and honey, milk powder, milk protein isolate, palm oil, and “natural taste” (whatever that means) are among them.

So, where do we go from here? This can be difficult. While some items are labeled as “vegan” on their websites, others may include trace amounts of milk despite the absence of animal products in their ingredient list. These are minor and so acceptable to the majority of vegans. However, they would not be labeled “vegan,” making them more difficult to identify. Others contain ‘natural flavor’ and are not labeled as a vegan despite the absence of any potentially animal-derived ingredients. Here’s a list of vegan-friendly products that are definitely, or almost surely.

What are Kind Bars, Exactly?

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Save this

Enter your email below and I'll email this post to you -- no strings and no further emails unless you ask for them.

Kind bars are fruit, nut, and grain-based snack bars created by Kind Healthy Snacks.

This makes them a good source of vitamins, minerals, and other essential nutrients, making them a good option for people who enjoy an afternoon snack but don’t want to overindulge in bad foods.

Kind LLC, or Kind Healthy Snacks, is the company behind these bars, and it’s been operating since 2004. It’s now accessible in most major retailers, thanks to its rapid growth over the last two decades.

Kind bars typically contain nutrient-dense components like nuts, cereals, and fruits. Cashews, almonds, peanuts, walnuts, quinoa, milled rice, oats, and other grains are all available. Apples, mangoes, bananas, raspberries, peppermint, and various other fruits may be added in dried or juice form.

These ingredients alone would lead one to believe that Kind bars are ideal for vegans; unfortunately, that is not true. Unfortunately, some of the ingredients used in each bar are not vegan-friendly.

Are Kind Bars Vegan?

No, is the quick response. A query about vegan products can be found on the KIND Snacks website’s frequently asked questions page. According to KIND Snacks, most of their products contain honey, which may not suit a vegan diet. Honey is used to substitute high fructose corn syrup and other conventional sweeteners.

Vegans do not eat or use animal products by definition, and honey is considered non-vegan among the vegan community. Unfortunately, honey is present in all traditional KIND Bars flavors, including vanilla blueberry and dark chocolate mocha, making them non-vegan. But exceptions are always there.

Vegan Kind Bars

Kind Whole Kinds

These bars are all-natural and manufactured with only a few simple ingredients. In fact, their Strawberry Apple Cherry Chia bars don’t require an explanation because they’re composed entirely of the components specified in the name. And, even though their Dark Chocolate Banana bar contains natural flavor and palm oil, it is listed as vegan. However, if you’re attempting to rescue the earth (thank you! ), you should generally avoid palm oil products.

Kind Healthy Grains Granola

Except for the ‘Probiotic Clusters,’ ‘Almond Butter Clusters,’ and ‘Oats & Honey Granola with Toasted Coconut‘ variants, all KIND’s Healthy Grains granola products are vegan-friendly. Pair their vegan selections with a delicious plant-based yogurt.

Kind Oatmeal

These items do not contain any other potentially animal-derived components, even though they are not labeled as vegan, and some do have ‘natural flavor.’ As a result, there’s no reason to think they’re not vegan-friendly. If you’re concerned about the unknown ‘natural flavor’ ingredient (which could be animal or plant-based), you’ll want to avoid the KIND oatmeal products. Dark Chocolate Almond, Apple Cinnamon Almond, and Cranberry Almond. As a result, the only guaranteed vegan product is Oats & Almond.

Kind Clusters

Their KIND Clusters are another product line that isn’t classified as vegan but is presumably vegan-friendly. There is no honey, milk powder, or palm oil in any of these items. The Dark Chocolate Nuts & Sea Salt Nut Clusters, on the other hand, do contain ‘natural flavor,’ which we can’t guarantee is vegan. Also, these items are produced on equipment that comes into touch with milk and/or eggs, which is crucial to know if you’re sensitive, but it doesn’t make the products non-vegan for the vast majority of vegans.

Are Kind Protein Bars Vegan?

If you’re a vegetarian, Kind Bars are an excellent alternative to the highly processed bars found in most supermarkets. However, if you’re a vegan, I’m afraid I have some terrible news for you…

Honey is present in All kinds of Protein Bars, making them technically non-vegan.

“What’s the big deal with honey?” you’re probably thinking. Isn’t it a good, all-natural sweetener?”

However, I’ll explain here a little explanation to help you understand why honey isn’t vegan-friendly.

Why Vegans do Not Consume Honey?

Honey is first gathered from bee colonies kept in captivity. Bee colonies, contrary to popular belief, require honey to survive. In fact, they spend their entire lives looking for nectar to turn into honey, which they use to feed their young larvae.

Many adult bees drink honey during the fall and winter months when there aren’t any flowering flowers to collect nectar.

Beekeepers endanger young larvae and adult bees when they steal a colony’s honey supplies. This is clearly in violation of the vegan ethic of “do no harm.”

Furthermore, some bee farms go above and beyond. Some bee farms would gas their bees and kill the entire colony to start again if they start producing less honey (typically due to it being taken from them regularly).

Isn’t that a little messed up?

However, some honey is harvested ethically, and many organic honey farms exist that solely harvest extra honey from bee colonies.

They appreciate their colonies and provide them with a safe environment where they can develop naturally and collect nectar from natural flowers.

On the other hand, these organic bee farms aren’t the standard. You can also bet your bottom dollar that most of the honey used in commercial food products doesn’t come from these farms, where the honey is in short supply and costs roughly quadruple compared to non-ethical honey.

As a result of all of these factors, most vegans avoid honey consumption.

However, I’ll leave it up to you to determine what you want to do with this information, as many vegans aren’t opposed to honey consumption.

Are Kind Cereals Vegan?

Kind also produces a line of wonderful, all-natural granola in addition to their well-known bars. Some people eat it plain, while others mix it with their favorite plant milk and consume it like cereal.

While honey is used in many Kind Granola flavors, some are vegan-friendly!

Maple Quinoa Granola with Chia Seeds is my favorite vegan Kind of Granola. This granola is naturally sweetened with vegan-friendly maple syrup and created with authentic ingredients, including oats, unrefined cane sugar, and ancient grains.

Kind’s Dark Chocolate Clusters are another favorite of mine. It’s honey-free, and the dark chocolate (vegan) adds a lovely sweet flavor!

What are the Ingredients of a Vegan-Friendly Snack or Bar?

The Kind Fruit Bars are the most vegan-friendly snack, according to Kind’s FAQ section. These fruit bars include no honey and are created with only the most basic, all-natural ingredients. So, if you see some of these at your local health food store, don’t pass them up!

Here’s a quick rundown of the components:

Mango, Apple, and Chia seeds

There’s no way these bars could be non-vegan with just three simple ingredients! Apart from the delightful, fruity flavor, all of these components are strong in natural dietary fiber, so they’ll keep you full while also aiding digestion. Overall, it’s the ideal morning snack!

What is the Taste of a Vegan Protein Bar?

When you first open the plant-based protein bar packaging, expect a pleasant aroma of luscious chocolate and high-quality roasted almonds! Do you know how some bars have that artificial sweetener/ingredient odor? The KIND Protein Double Dark Chocolate Nut Bar has none of that. The KIND Protein Double Dark Chocolate Nut Bar not only smells different than most plant-based protein bars, but it also looks different. As you can see, the medium-sized protein bar is packed with whole almonds and peanut halves. There’s no strange nougat layer here; instead, there’s a tonne of almonds, peanuts, and soy crisps squished with a light syrup (glucose syrup per the ingredient list).

A thin chocolate layer coats the bottom of the protein bar, which tastes like dark chocolate from a high-end chocolatier. If I do say so myself, the same chocolate is drizzled on top to produce a lovely (and almost homemade appearing) plant-based protein bar.

What are the Nutrition Levels of Kind Protein Double Dark Chocolate Nut Bar?

The healthful plant-based components in each KIND Protein Double Dark Chocolate Nut Bar provide 250 calories, and this is calorically dense than certain vegan and non-vegan snacks and protein bars. Still, when we see that the first two ingredients are peanuts and almonds, we know that nuts are calorically dense than protein or carbohydrates since they have a higher percentage of fat (9 calories per gram of fat compared to 4 calories per gram in protein and carbohydrates). As a result, we should expect the fat content to be higher.

KIND Protein Double Dark Chocolate Nut Bar includes 17 grams of total fat per bar but only 4 grams of saturated fat and 0 grams of trans fat, with the majority of that fat coming from peanuts and almonds. This promotes general satiety and pleasure while also supplying fat-soluble vitamins like Vitamin E, which can be found in peanuts and almonds (20 percent RDA per KIND Protein Double Dark Chocolate Nut Bar).

Who Could Benefit from Supplementing Their Diet With Protein?

If you’re already getting enough protein from your diet, a supplement may not significantly impact your health. Those who are unable to eat enough protein regularly due to a loss of appetite or illness or who have increased protein needs due to high-intensity activity may benefit from supplementation.

This group has a higher protein requirement but a lesser appetite. Increasing protein intake in a palatable form that caters to their reduced appetite may be useful in preventing muscle loss. Other factors, such as kidney health and osteoporosis, must be evaluated and monitored in this group; it’s worth checking with a GP to ensure that protein supplements are safe and appropriate for each individual.’

What to Look for in a Protein Bar?

Your specific needs and objectives will determine the best protein bar for you. For example, if you want to gain weight or muscle, you might consider a mass gainer product with more calories and carbohydrates. Look for a product that meets your dietary needs and double-check the allergen information on the package.

When purchasing a protein bar, choose one from a reputable firm, preferably one situated in Europe, as those produced outside the EU may not meet the same safety regulations as those produced within. If you have any doubts regarding a product’s safety, talk to your pharmacist or doctor.

What Qualities to Look for in Protein Bars?

Taste and texture: does it have a pleasing flavor? Is the texture appealing?

Pea, brown rice, hemp, peanut, soya, or another type of plant-based protein?

What is the nutrient profile, and how much protein is in each serving? What about calories, fat (especially saturated fat), carbs, and sugars?

Is it sweetened with sugars, artificial sweeteners, or none at all?

Are there any dietary restrictions, such as vegan, gluten-free, or soy-free?

How does it stack up against the competition in terms of cost-per-bar?


Kind bars are a healthy on-the-go snack alternative, and there isn’t a more well-known brand than Kind when it comes to nutritious on-the-go bars. They’re tasty treats that include fruits and grains and the nutrients and minerals that one might require to stay healthy. Unfortunately, most Kind bars are not vegan since they contain honey and, in some cases, milk, which is both animal-derived components.